Bakewell Tart Reference

So now… I’ve decided to set up a few challenges for myself. Gluten Free Recipe Challenges. It actually would be great to have a recipe competition for finding the best substitutes for one’s favorite gluten filled recipes. Thanks to the BBC series and the character DCI Gene Hunt, I think I may have found my first challenge.

My husband and I adore watching the show Life on Mars. In one episode the hard-nosed Detective Chief Inspector gives Detective Inspector Sam Tyler a hard time for being a little too soft…”Should I bring out the Bakewell Tarts and a spot of tea?” he jabs.

gene_hunt.jpg

So now being very uneducated about British cuisine I search google for bakewell tart images and the history and I find this. I also find this absolutely delicious sounding recipe on Foodaholic: Celebrating the Bakewell Tart. Note, the image of the tart on this blog is far more tantalizing that the one I found below.

My first challenge will of course be creating a decent shortbread… which I suspect may not be that hard…it might just take a good and selective blend of tapioca, potato, and dairy whey, with either rice or sorghum flours. The frangipan filling is easy enough. Check back by the end of the month I may have something for you.

bakewelltart.jpg

About nkilkenny

Natalie Laderas works as an instructional designer with experience delivering training solutions which include online training portals, print or job aids, blended (instructor/elearning) learning elements, and embedded help solutions. She develops innovative solutions for training design including modularized training or Reusable Learning Objects (RLO) and Web 2.0 features for Knowledge Management including as podcasting, wikis, blogs. She has managed and led both small and large training projects which include audiences of 80 to 12,000 people in both local and global sites.

One comment

  1. Jona Titus

    Hey, what a great challenge. I SO want the recipe when you’ve figured it out.

Leave a Reply

