Almond Tea Cakes

I had to create a set of cakes for a party I’m going to tonight. I know there will be at least one other Gluten sensitive person there. I think these would be quite marvelous for a tea dusted with some powdered sugar and served with fresh strawberries. I really do like egg-sponge cakes better than baking powder leavened cakes.

I adapted the Financier Cake here: http://frenchfood.about.com/od/frenchdessertrecipes/r/tradfinancier.htm

By substituting 1 c. flour with 1/4 cornstarch, 1/4 potato starch and 1/2 tapioca flour and 1/2 tsp. Xantham gum. Also I baked them in metal tart tins (well-greased with butter) for 12-14 minutes at 375 F.

Let the tins cool on a rack for about 5 minutes before removing the cakes. I found out that in a conventional oven it’s best to bake only 12 tins at a time and that the tins with the least amount of flat surface area actually released their cakes easily when tapped lightly.

I have to confess I think I broke two or three on purpose so I could eat the ‘rejects.’ Don’t know why I still have to do that.

About nkilkenny

Natalie Laderas works as an instructional designer with experience delivering training solutions which include online training portals, print or job aids, blended (instructor/elearning) learning elements, and embedded help solutions. She develops innovative solutions for training design including modularized training or Reusable Learning Objects (RLO) and Web 2.0 features for Knowledge Management including as podcasting, wikis, blogs. She has managed and led both small and large training projects which include audiences of 80 to 12,000 people in both local and global sites.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

